For the 2020 Catherine Doctorow Innovative Fiction Contest, Renee Gladman has selected The Good Word by Yannick Murphy.

Yannick Murphy is the author of the novels The Sea of Trees, Here They Come, Signed Mata Hari, The Call, and This is the Water. Her story collections include Stories in Another Language and In a Bear’s Eye. She is also the author of three children’s books. She lives in Vermont.

The FC2 Catherine Doctorow Innovative Fiction Prize is funded by grant support from the Jarvis and Constance Doctorow Family Foundation.